AgapeLady’s Blog

March 12, 2009

Doctors Don’t Know Everything

Okay, I’m no doctor and I don’t even pretend to be one, but I have to say – as well meaning as many of them are, doctors don’t know everything and it’s time we took our own health back!

I was recently placed on a medication for osteopenia (which is the precursor to osteoporosis). The doctor put me on a very common treatment, but I have to tell you – it made me sick for 2 weeks. I felt sick to my stomach and the aching in my joints even kept me from sleeping well at night. I was faced with the effects of this synthetic drug… or the decision to live with osteoporosis. Or was I?

I decided to go to the one Great Physician. I’ve spent days in prayer and asking God, trusting Him to reveal His truth to me. And what I discovered was that I don’t have to take the medication. Instead, God has some healthier alternatives for me instead – using some natural supplements. I know this is the right decision for me.

If you’re facing a health situation and you don’t know which way to turn… something in your gut is telling you that you should look elsewhere… may I suggest it might just be our Great Physician letting you know that He has a better idea? It might involve some fasting, praying and research, but He will reveal it to you. James 1:5-6 promises that He will reveal His wisdom to those who ask. So why not ask? What have you got to lose?

No sooner than I had made my decision, but I began to receive several different emails pertaining to alternative treatments for Osteoporosis – Women to Women and Dr. Susan Lark. I also spoke with Zna Trainer, a dear friend and mentor. AND my older brother just “happened” to tell me of a resource his wife used in sports medicine (from Dr. Sherry A. Rogers). ALL confirmed that I should not continue the medication, but should seek natural remedies instead. That was good enough for me!

Our Heavenly Father has created us with “fearfully and wonderfully made” bodies (Psalm 139:14). He knows us far better than anyone else. Now, don’t get me wrong – I am NOT saying doctors are bad or that they are always wrong. I AM saying that we need to really check our sources and confirm that what they are telling us is best. Let’s face it: No one can keep up with all the research and resources available on every condition possible – so it’s time we took more control over the issues we’re dealing with. As far as I’m concerned, the BEST SOURCE for truth is the Creator who made us. He’s got the inside knowledge.

Love & blessings,

AgapeLady

2 Comments »

  1. Congrats for taking back your health and choosing to do what you feel best. I know what you mean about making the choices to stop, ask for Divine Guidance and then moving forward. There are times when medications are what are needed and there are times when they aren’t. So keep on taking fantabulous care of you since the world needs your amazing gift of love.

    love and light, hugs and blessings
    MamaRed

    Comment by MamaRed (Jerilynne) — March 12, 2009 @ 7:06 PM | Reply

  2. You know, some of the new meds simply frighten me. As one who reacts strongly to many meds, it seems the side effects are worse than the disorder we had to begin with! I will be looking into the alternative methods you wrote about. I think this may be another example of God intervening at the right time! Thank you so much for posting this!!! You are an amazing gal! Be Blessed! deni

    Comment by deni weber — March 13, 2009 @ 3:53 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

