AgapeLady’s Blog

February 26, 2009

Ever Have One of Those Days?

Filed under: Encouragement,Religion,Struggle,Uncategorized — agapelady @ 5:40 AM

Well, yesterday was one of them for me. On Monday, I took my husband to the doctor for a procedure and it was quite difficult for him (and me). When I went into work, I had an unpleasant situation crop up. I also discovered I have osteopenia, a precursor to osteoporosis. And that’s only a few of the things going on that seemed to accumulate and overwhelm me (can I get a witness for my pity party?).

Now, don’t get me wrong – I’m SO thankful the osteopenia was caught early and that I can take measures to rebuild bone before there’s too much problem or before I break a bone badly. And I’m thankful my husband went through the procedure safely and appears to be feeling much better today. And I really am grateful for a job in a time when finding a job is difficult (or impossible) for some. I even enjoy my coworkers… but as problems accumulated… I began feeling overwhelmed with a capital “O.”

After getting ready to send out engraved invitations to my pity party and deciding no one else would come, I began looking for God’s encouragement… and there it was! God is soooo good to me!

I love the quote I read in one of my devotional calendars Bless Your Heart – “I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But by God’s grace and Christ’s love I am not what I was.” Can I hear an AMEN?! And then I read II Chronicles 20:15 “Do not be afraid or discouraged… for the battle is not yours but God’s.” Oh, what a relief cuz I was sure beginning to think it was mine! 🙂

Today, too, God was making sure I paid attention to His encouragement- my special verses in Isaiah were today’s devotional reading when I flipped the page this morning! Wow… it’s so nice to know God cares and is in control!

Are you having “one of those days”? If so, take it from me – having a pity party and crying may work for a moment, but it doesn’t seem to change a whole lot. In fact, it might even make you feel worse. Instead, consider your health – are you tired? hungry? feeling sick? If you are, address those needs pronto! If it’s not physical, but purely emotional, choose to look for the encouragement that exists for you… something special that God sends your way that is meant to uplift your spirits. It will be there. It may be just a little thing, but sometimes that’s all you need to hang on during a day like that. Also, don’t forget that calling on a sister or a brother in those down times is an important part of the process – get that prayer cover working! If you take positive action, you’ll soon find the clouds disappearing somewhat… maybe even enough to see the Son shine. 😉

Love & Blessings
AgapeLady

3 Comments »

  1. Hello my friend. Thanks for sharing. Father God is so faithful. Life can be overwhelming, presents disappointments, hurts,pain, setbacks and more. But oh what a good Father God is, He helps us through while preparing us for promotion and if we let Him reminds of peace “perfect peace” that only He can give. I love you in the Lord and encourage you to continue in the love that He has given you. He knows the plans…. it’s not a cliche (I’m sure you know), He knows
    “truly.”

    Robin

    Comment by Robin Tramble empowermentdiva — February 27, 2009 @ 2:58 AM | Reply

  2. Hi Darlin…and yes, I know what it is to have “one of those days”, I really do. And I’m grateful, beyond words that I’ve learned how to shift, where to look for the Light, how to reach how to people live yourself who have shared their lives, their hearts and their stories with me.

    I swear, I’m sometimes ready to create engraved “Come to my Pity Party” invitations, except then it might be about someone else and not me, and now, really, how fun would that be? Laugh.

    We may have some differences in our overt belief systems and I’m grateful for your acceptance AND (you knew there was to be an “AND” conversation right?) your words of wisdom and caring.

    God bless sweetheart…

    love and light, hugs and blessings
    MamaRed

    Comment by MamaRed (Jerilynne) — February 27, 2009 @ 7:02 AM | Reply

  3. LOVE your openness….I am proud of you and inspired by your courage to write so openly, all the while ….encouraging!!

    love you
    sue

    Comment by sue — March 2, 2009 @ 12:55 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

