AgapeLady’s Blog

February 18, 2009

His Grace IS Sufficient

Filed under: Divorce,Encouragement,God's Love,Grace,Love,Rape,Religion,Struggle — agapelady @ 8:33 AM

I remember a lady who shared her testimony early in my faith… she shared of war experiences and how she was raped by a soldier. It floored me. Here was a woman who loved the Lord, who was brutalized in what many women believe is the worst manner and she was still praising God! Wow. I couldn’t imagine being that strong in my faith. And I am quite sure that on her own, she wasn’t. But God has a wonderful way of meeting us in our need – no matter what it is – and carrying us through… supernaturally buoyed by His love and strength.

Many years ago I was raped in college. I remember the horror, the shame, the fears, the sorrow, the guilt… all of the emotions that run through a woman’s heart.  And I remember a verse that came to mind: “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” (II Corinthians 12:6)

Even as I began to walk through the valley of resuming life after the rape… as I sought the answers why… God comforted me. His grace was indeed sufficient. And my faith grew.

Many years later, I got married. To make the story short, I’ll just say it was turbulent. I sought counseling to weather the abusive storms but after 11 years, the marriage ended in divorce. God had not healed my marriage even though I’d begged him, even though I’d trusted Him… and I didn’t know what to do. I had two young sons (3 & 6) to raise. I remember thinking, “Will Your grace be sufficient, Lord? Will it?” To be honest, I wasn’t sure.

I asked many questions of God as to why again, but He simply answered with His love. And, yet again, He carried me through. After years of very little to no child support and raising two young men, He still carried me. Even today, in the midst of trials and struggles, His grace continues to be sufficient… the realization finally hit me: “My grace IS sufficient.” His grace is sufficient (present tense).

When I think about some of the things God has carried me through, I don’t see how I made it. That’s because if I look back and think about the past – it seems so miraculous, so overwhelming that I survived… and I know if not for the Lord, I wouldn’t have. When I first heard that woman share her story, I thought then that I could never go through anything like that. But dear friend… His grace IS sufficient. The verse doesn’t say “His grace WAS sufficient.” It doesn’t say “His grace WILL BE sufficient.” It says “His grace IS sufficient.” Present tense. Happening now.

Oh, dear one, I don’t know what God has carried you through. I don’t know what He has in store for you. But I do know this:  His grace is sufficient for whatever it is! That strength, all you need, is available at the time you need it. Not before. Not necessarily after. But DURING. Just ask, dear one, just ask. That’s not to say it will be “easy” – ask anyone who has been through struggle – but it does mean you will once again see the sunshine on the other side of that sorrow. Hang on, dear one, hang on!

You can expect this life to have some troubles – we were warned and told not to be discouraged (John 16:33). My Bible says “Take heart!” May I encourage you just a moment? May I share that I know His grace is there for you when you need it too? If you’re going through something now, it’s ready for the asking. If there’s something down the road, it will be ready then. If there’s something in your past, He can heal it. His love covers all and makes us whole.

My prayer for YOU reading this is that you will know His love. Not just in your head – but in your heart. I pray you will feel His love because that love is strong enough, wide enough, deep enough to carry you, to hold you tightly in the darkest of nights and to never, ever let you go.

Love and blessings,

AgapeLady


4 Comments »

  1. Dear AgapeLady,

    Thank you once again for reminding me that God is (present tense) always with us. I need jolts every now and then. John

    Comment by John — February 18, 2009 @ 5:55 PM | Reply

  2. It is a a blessing to be reminded that yes we are broken vessels, yet this Grace of God is poured out into us. You are so right, HIS grace IS sufficient. Don’t let the devil, the memories, your head tell you ANY different. His LOVE is there, and may His love embrace you.

    Grace & Peace

    Comment by Mr K — February 20, 2009 @ 6:36 AM | Reply

  3. Amen and amen. God never said He would take our troubles away, but He said He would be with us and He is. Thank you for your transparency, my friend. God is using you for His glory.

    Comment by Jason Mitchener — February 20, 2009 @ 7:10 AM | Reply

  4. Amen my dear friend in Christ! He is so amazing IS so sufficient IS full of grace and mercy-and with us EVERY step of the way! May not feel like it-especially in shocking turbulance-but is He EVER! You-know-He IS there-if is there for me-is for all…was there during my beating-my marital issues-of a lengthy 11 yrs-split up at 6-talk about Jesus wanting to get me to turn to Him-and run to Him-took all the suicidal issues that WOKE ME UP-with our beautiful child so innocent thru it all-took my ex and I falling into all that mess to get me to want to find Him-and you amaze me. As for you went thru all of this knowing Him-which can be so wavering when you have known Him longer…but feels like when you go thru it-really crazy times as awakening to find Him-you become alert quick-on your toes. Which is why we have to soak Him up so daily-when we ever first wondered why we “need” to read His Word daily-we each find out a reason why sooner or later. And sometimes seems like He has amazing ways to get us to wake up-and grow as close to Him as HE KNOWS WE CAN BE-so we can help bring people to Him-to follow Him…to be in His Kingdom-all about Him and His glory! We shouldn’t “need” to want to grow close to Him-we should WANT-THIRST…just as He has formed you! And He works wonders thru you…you have touched my life in so many ways…I thank Him for you-and love transparency..He has worked wonders thru all your trials-just as He continues to-and will keep doing until He comes back! He loves you so much-and is smiling with so much love for your faith and devotion to HIM-and all you do for others! Praise Jesus for you-for your strength thru your weakness..this I know is the best way-only way to truly live!
    God bless you-your children-and your faith you shared in our King-Jesus Christ! I love you!
    In His Love and Mercy,
    Hetty Siebens

    (pray I didn’t babble a bunch of babble-that makes little sense-blame my seizures and missing brain!) 🙂

    Hebrews 10:35-36
    Do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord, NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS. Remembber the great reward it brings you! Patient endurance is what you need now, so you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that He has promised.

    Comment by hetty4christ — February 20, 2009 @ 7:40 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

